City Guide San Francisco

E-mail Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) PDF

San Francisco

Issue 04/2013

sanfrancisco

Text Ilona Marx Photos Adriaan Louw

According to the legendary tale, German immigrant Levi Strauss and the tailor Jacob Davis were the first to hammer rivets into the robust trousers they had made for gold miners, in order to make the workwear garment even more durable. The innovative duo would no doubt never have dreamed that, from a fashion point of view, they were making a product for eternity and at the same time a sartorial symbol for the youth of generations to come.
A century and a half later, times have changed, but one thing remains: the innovator attitude in what is probably the most laidback metropolis of America. And this is partly also due to the 'Yes we can!' spirit that prevails here. With their relaxed lifestyle, people here are flexible, open and uncomplicated. San Franciscans enjoy life and everything the city has to offer. Picnics in the park, sport in the fresh air, good healthy food and excellent wine, beach life and big surf, as well as the vibrant nightlife.

So you can probably guess: Northern Californians are not so big on high fashion or lengthy grooming and styling. After all, who would want to totter up and down the steep hills in high heels or be taken by surprise wearing something skimpy when the temperature unexpectedly plummets? In reality, a pretty substantial proportion of San Francisco's inhabitants seem to spend most of the day in running gear. Whether or not they are all sports freaks or simply like to create that impression is irrelevant.

Despite the rather pragmatic dress code, the streetscape is anything but. As the USA's gay-­lesbian Eldorado, San Francisco is home to a ­colourful, vibrant bunch. Add to that the hippie vibe and festival atmosphere in the parks – best seen in the Mission Dolores Park on a sunny weekend – and the D.I.Y. movement that is way moreactive here than in Europe: self-confident and uninhibited, giving perfectionism the cold shoulder, a new generation of San Franciscan designers are beavering away with refreshing results. Compared to London or Paris, the atmosphere of the city could be likened to a Waldorf School, full of happy, free and optimistic young people. But despite this, tradition also plays an important role: not just because Levi's, the mother of all denim brands, has its headquarters in the city. The entire city breathes denim, and the density of the top-notch indigo fabric is just as high as the hills overlooking the bay.

The greatest inspiration and best overview of fashion and culinary trends on the street can be experienced on a wander along Valencia Street. This is where visitors can find everything that makes San Francisco so desirable: small pretty boutiques, health food restaurants, vintage furniture stores, coffee shops and thrift stores. And thanks to the length of the increasingly popular shopping mile, there is plenty of space for new ideas to develop. Another place undergoing major changes is the Outer Sunset District, where the most exciting new retail and gastro additions are sprouting up out of the ground at the moment. Somewhat more established but equally worth a visit are North Beach, the Italian district at the foot of Telegraph Hill, Hayes Valley, a dream for shopaholics and Fillmore Street in Pacific Heights.

We roamed the streets of the hottest districts, interviewed the coolest people, and of course took photos of the trendiest street styles, capturing the essence of San Francisco to make sure you're well informed for your next trip.

 

Back ... Last Updated on y-m-d  

The
Current Issue

City Guide San Francisco

E-Mail Druckbutton anzeigen? PDF

San Francisco

Ausgabe 04/2013

sanfrancisco

Text Ilona Marx Photos Adriaan Louw

Der Legende nach sollen der deutschstämmige Levi Strauss und der Schneider Jacob Davis die ersten Nieten in die von ihnen produzierten, robusten Goldgräberhosen geklopft haben, um sie so noch widerstandsfähiger zu machen. Dass sie dabei auch aus modischer Sicht ein Produkt für die Ewigkeit kreieren und zugleich das vestimentäre Symbol der Jugend par excellence erschaffen würden, hatte sich das experimentierfreudige Duo vermutlich nicht träumen lassen.

Anderthalb Jahrhunderte später: Die Zeiten haben sich geändert, aber eines ist geblieben: Goldgräberstimmung in der wohl entspanntesten Metropole Amerikas, die sich nicht zuletzt einer ausgeprägten ‚Yes, we can!‘-Attitüde verdankt. Lässig ist der Lifestyle, man gibt sich flexibel, offen und unkompliziert. Die Menschen in San Francisco genießen ihr Leben und das, was die Stadt ihnen bietet. Picknicks im Park, Sport an der frischen Luft, gutes, gesundes Essen und exzellenten Wein, Beach-Life und Big Surf, ein reges Nachtleben.

Man ahnt es schon: High Fashion und angestrengtes Styling sind nicht angesagt in Nordkalifornien. Wer wollte schon in High Heels die steilen Hügel auf- und abstöckeln oder im Lingerie-Look von einem der allgegenwärtigen Temperaturstürze überrascht werden? Tatsächlich ist ein nicht geringer Teil der Einwohner San Franciscos in Running-Gear unterwegs. Ob wirklich alle sportsüchtig sind oder nur gerne den Anschein erwecken, sei einmal dahingestellt.

Trotz des eher pragmatischen Kleidungsstils: Langweilig ist das Straßenbild mitnichten. Als Eldorado der schwul-lesbischen Szene beherbergt San Francisco ein buntes, ja bisweilen schrilles Publikum. Dazu kommen Hippie-Vibe und Festivalstimmung in den Parks – am besten zu beobachten im Mission Dolores Park an einem sonnigen Wochenende – und die D.I.Y.-Bewegung, die hier weit lebendiger ist als in Europa: Selbstbewusst und ungehemmt, dem Perfektionismus die kalte Schulter zeigend, werkelt das junge San Francisco vor sich hin – mit erfrischendem Ergebnis. Verglichen mit London oder Paris erinnert die Atmosphäre in der Stadt an eine Waldorfschule, so glücklich, frei und zuversichtlich geradeaus wirken junge Designer hier. Aber, wie gesagt, es gibt auch Tradition: Nicht nur weil Levi's, die Mutter aller Denimbrands, hier ihr Headquarter hat. Die ganze Stadt atmet Denim, und die Dichte an hochkarätigen Denim-Shops ist dementsprechend hoch.

Größte Inspiration und einen besten Einblick in das modische wie kulinarische Geschehen bietet ein Bummel über die Valencia Street im Stadtteil Mission. Hier reiht sich all das aneinander, was San Francisco so begehrenswert macht: kleine hübsche Boutiquen, Health-Food-Restaurants, Vintage-Möbelläden, Kaffee-Institutionen, Kuriositätenshops. Und dank der Länge der immer beliebter werdenden Flaniermeile ist noch genug Raum für Neues. Ebenfalls im Werden begriffen: der Stadteil Outer Sunset, wo momentan die spannendsten Retail- und Gastro-Neuzugänge zu bewundern sind. Etwas etablierter, aber nicht minder lohnenswert: North Beach, das italienische Viertel am Fuße des ­Telegraph Hill, Hayes Valley, ein Traum für Shopaholics, sowie die Fillmore Street in Pacific Heights.

Wir haben die einschlägigen Viertel für Sie durchstreift, die coolsten Leute interviewt und die besten Street Styles festgehalten – wie gewohnt in Wort und Bild.

Zurück ... Zuletzt aktualisiert am d.m.y  

Aktuelle
Ausgabe

Ausgabe kaufenAbonnierenMediadaten