City Guide Hamburg

E-mail Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) PDF

Northern Highlights

Issue 04/2012

illu-hamburg

Text Ilona Marx Photos Gulliver Theis Illustration Roman Klonek

Water, water, everywhere: Germany’s largest harbour has a surface area of 7400 hectares. That makes it the second largest in Europe, after Rotterdam. So it’s no wonder that this has had such a pronounced impact on life in Hamburg: centuries of tradition, a multicultural population, merchant wealth, yes, even the hedonistic Reeperbahn – so much of what makes this Hanseatic city unique is down to its status as a port ...

... a port whose history is still in the making: with what is possibly the largest site of urban regeneration in Europe, and is already attracting droves of tourists in the process: work is currently being carried out on an ambitious new city quarter that will set benchmarks in Germany. Not just the 500-millioneuro project of the Elbe Philharmonic Hall, but also a large number of new homes, some of which will boast spectacular architecture, will add yet another facet to Hamburg’s persona.

But the 1.7 million city is incredibly diverse as it is: there are the elegant villas in Blankenese that have very little in common with the so-called sinful mile of the city’s St. Pauli district – despite the fact that the rental prices in the central location next to the infamous entertainment hub are rocketing, thanks to the many newly renovated flats in the area. No wonder that The Guardian recently named St. Pauli amongst its top five picks for best places to live in the world. And elsewhere the city’s image is pretty stellar too: the once alternative Schanze (a district mainly in the Old Town) has long since succumbed to becoming trendy with the requisite collection of record shops, boutiques and bars. Hamburg’s oldest district, St. Georg, located behind the railway station, is increasingly moving away from its “problem area” reputation and turning into a hotspot for artists and creatives. The more peaceful Ottensen area has the highest density of young families and cafés, and Altona, offering up the first pedestrian zone in Germany in the 60s (the Grosse Bergstrasse) is now characterised by small multicultural shops and independent gastronomy – not forgetting the shores of the Elbe in the south of the city.

A wander through the neo-gothic Speicherstadt (warehouse district), a romantic canoeing tour on the Alster canals in Winterhude or a quick visit to the port to watch one of the ocean-bound giants being loaded up with cargo? Visitors to Hamburg are spoilt for choice. And that goes for the evening entertainment too. No matter where you go, music is omnipresent: from the Star Club where the Beatles played in 1962, to establishments like Grosse Freiheit 36 and Uebel & Gefährlich. There’s definitely a lot going on as far as the local music scene is concerned too – starting with the former protagonists of the so-called Hamburger Schule (or Hamburg School – a German musical movement popular during the early 1990s) to hip hop stars like Jan Delay down to the “man with the hat”, German rock musician Udo Lindenberg.

But editor-in-chief Ilona Marx is used to having a lot going on – in fact one could say she thrives on it. Together with Hamburg photographer Gulliver Theis she biked her way through autumnal Hamburg, discovering to her relief that the water between the Alster and Elbe rivers doesn’t come mainly from above as is generally thought: whereas Munich gets 970 litres of rain per m² a year, Hamburg only gets a modest 770.

 

PLUS CHECK THESE OUT

Rudolf Beaufays The best vintage store in town. Men only! www.rudolf-beaufays.de

FKK Despite the name (which means "nudism" in German!), they definitely sell clothes here! www.fkk-fashion.de

Bob Understated Men's Fashion www.bob-men.de

Strandperle The institution on the beach at Övelgönne. www.strandperle-hamburg.de

The beach at St. Pauli The city equivalent. www.strandpauli.de

Henningsen Nice knitwear, made in Germany. www.birte-henningsen.de

Café Knuth The classic – this is where Ottensen's locals meet! www.cafeknuth.com

Café Reh Alpine romance in Altona. www.rehbar.de

Hej Papa Lovingly designed café with Scandinavian flair. www.hejpapa.de

Bullerei Trendy restaurant owned by Tim Mälzer (German celebrity chef). www.bullerei.com

Oberhafenkantine Very unusual bar – only for those who are steady on their feet! www.oberhafenkantine-hamburg.de

Feinkunst Krüger Cool indie gallery. www.feinkunst-krueger.de

Senator Watrin Curiosity shop on Marktstrasse. www.senatorwatrin.de

Gorilla Grill Nice interior, good food. www.gorillagrill.de

Back ... Last Updated on y-m-d  

The
Current Issue

City Guide Hamburg

E-Mail Druckbutton anzeigen? PDF

Das Hoch im Norden

Ausgabe 04/2012

illu-hamburg

Text Ilona Marx Photos Gulliver Theis Illustration Roman Klonek

Wasser, Wasser, überall Wasser. 7.400 Hektar misst Deutschlands größter Hafen. Damit ist er nach Rotterdam der zweitgrößt e Europas. Kein Wunder also, dass er das Leben in Hamburg entscheidend geprägt hat: Die jahrhundertealte Handelstradition, die multikulturelle Gesellschaft, der vornehme Reichtum, ja sogar die hedonistische Reeperbahn – vieles, was die Hansestadt so unverwechselbar macht, verdankt sich auf die eine oder andere Weise der Existenz dieses Hafens ...

... dessen Geschichte noch nicht zu Ende geschrieben ist: Auf einer Großbaustelle, die ihresgleichen sucht und die schon heute Touristenscharen anlockt, entsteht derzeit ein außergewöhnliches Stadtviertel, das in Deutschland neue Maßstäbe setzen soll. Nicht nur die Elbphilharmonie, der 500 Millionen teure Konzertkoloss, sondern auch eine Vielzahl neuer Quartiere mit zum Teil spektakulärer Architektur werden das Gesicht Hamburgs um eine weitere Facette bereichern.

Ohnehin zeigt sich die 1,7-Millionen-Einwohner-Stadt so vielschichtig wie kaum eine zweite: Da sind die großbürgerlichen Villen in Blankenese, die mit der sündigen Meile St. Pauli herzlich wenig gemein zu haben scheinen – vordergründig betrachtet, denn die Mieten in dem zentral gelegenen Quartier, das neben dem weltberühmten Vergnügungsviertel auch jede Menge frisch sanierten Wohnraum beherbergt, steigen derzeit rasant. Kein Wunder, hat der britische ‚Guardian' St. Pauli doch jüngst zu einem der fünf lebenswertesten Orte der Welt gekürt. Und auch anderswo hat man mächtig am Image geschraubt: Die einstmals alternative Schanze ist längst zum Szeneviertel mit entsprechender Infrastruktur an Plattenläden, Boutiquen und Kneipen avanciert. Hamburg ältester Stadtteil, das rückseitig des Bahnhofs gelegene St. Georg, entwickelt sich mehr und mehr weg vom Problemviertel, hin zur Heimat für Künstler und Kreative. Das beschauliche Ottensen wartet mit der größten Dichte an jungen Familien und Cafés auf, während Altona, das mit der Großen Bergstraße in den 60er Jahren die erste Fußgängerzone Deutschlands stellte, durch kleine Händler aus aller Herren Länder und individuelle Gastronomie geprägt ist – nicht zu vergessen: das Elbufer im Süden.

Ein Streifzug durch die neogotische Speicherstadt, eine romantische Paddeltour auf den Alsterkanälen in Winterhude oder lieber eine Stippvisite im Hafen, um beim Containerverladen der Ozeanriesen zuzusehen? Wer Hamburg einen Besuch abstattet, hat die Qual der Wahl. Das gilt nicht zuletzt für die Gestaltung des Ausgehprogramms. Denn egal, in welches Etablissement man sich begibt, fast überall steckt buchstäblich Musik drin: Was 1962 mit Gastspielen der Beatles im Star-Club begann, findet seine Fortsetzung heute mit Konzerten in so unterschiedlichen Locations wie der Grossen Freiheit 36 und dem Uebel & Gefährlich. Selbstredend bleibt auch die lokale Musikszene umtriebig – angefangen von den ehemaligen Protagonisten der sogenannten Hamburger Schule über Hip-Hop-Größen wie Jan Delay bis hin zum ‚Mann mit dem Hut' Udo Lindenberg.

Umtriebigkeit? Für J'N'C-Chefredakteurin Ilona Marx Beruf wie Berufung. Gemeinsam mit dem Hamburger Fotografen Gulliver Theis radelte sie durch die herbstliche Hansestadt und stellte verblüfft fest, dass das Wasser zwischen Alster und Elbe weit seltener von oben kommt als landläufig vermutet: Fallen in München 970 Liter Regen pro Quadratmeter im Jahr, sind es in Hamburg lediglich 770.

 

PLUS CHECK THESE OUT

Rudolf Beaufays Das schönste Vintage-Kabinett. Men only! www.rudolf-beaufays.de

FKK Dem Namen zum Trotz eine sehr kleidsame Kollektion! www.fkk-fashion.de

Bob Understatement in Sachen Männermode www.bob-men.de

Strandperle Die Institution an der Övelgönne. www.strandperle-hamburg.de

Strand St. Pauli Das Äquivalent in Stadtnähe www.strandpauli.de

Henningsen Schöne Stricksachen. Made in Germany. www.birte-henningsen.de

Café Knuth Der Klassiker – hier trifft sich Ottensen! www.cafeknuth.com

Café Reh Alpenromantik in Altona. www.rehbar.de

Hej Papa Liebevoll gestaltetes Café mit Skandinavien-Flair. www.hejpapa.de

Bullerei Tim Mälzers Szenerestaurant. www.bullerei.com

Oberhafenkantine Sehr schräge Kneipe – nur für Standfeste! www.oberhafenkantine-hamburg.de

Feinkunst Krüger Coole Indie-Galerie. www.feinkunst-krueger.de

Senator Watrin Kuriosenkabinett auf der Marktstrasse. www.senatorwatrin.de

Gorilla Grill Nette einrichtung, gutes Essen. www.gorillagrill.de

Zurück ... Zuletzt aktualisiert am d.m.y  

Aktuelle
Ausgabe

Ausgabe kaufenAbonnierenMediadaten